Socotec Certification International
HOME > News Room > ISO 22301:2019 Business Continuity Management System Transition Program

ISO 22301:2019 Business Continuity Management System Transition Program

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has officially published ISO 22301:2019 Business Continuity Management Systems – Requirements on 31 Oct 2019. The stipulated transition period for ISO 22301:2019 is three (3) years and, ISO 22301:2012 certifications shall cease by 30 April 2023.

Kindly note the transition to ISO 22301:2019 could take place during the routine audits (e.g. surveillance/ re-certification) or non-routine audits. As per the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) requirements, from 31 April 2021 onwards, only ISO 22301:2019 initial and re-certification audits will be accepted. Therefore, we would advise you to make the necessary preparation to migrate to ISO 22301:2019 as soon as possible, and to coincide with your upcoming surveillance or re-certification audit.

ISO 22301:2019 Transition Timeline 

ISO 22301 2019 Transition Timeline.png

ISO 22301:2019 Key Changes

  • No additional requirements/clause except enhancement on existing requirements, improved clarity, and to make it aligned with other standards with annex SL.
  • Enhanced requirements include the following:

  • Management of change (Clause 6.3)
  • Business Continuity (BC) strategies and solutions (Clause 8.3)
  • Enhancement of evaluation of BC documentations and capabilities (Clause 8.6)

(Note: The entire Clause 8 has been re-structured to provide clearer understanding of the key requirements.)