Socotec Certification International
HOME > Certification > Management Systems Certification > SS444:2018 - Food Safety Management System

SS444:2018 - Food Safety Management System

Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) is a systematic preventive approach to ensure the integrity of the food safety is maintained and implemented effectively. 

 In Singapore, accredited Food Safety Management System (FSMS) is based on SAC HACCP Document 2 standard; it is not only to effectively implement the 12 steps & 7 principles requirements based on SS 444:2010 standard but also helps to ensure that the food companies are being certified by SAC accredited certification bodies with competent & food safety specialist/auditor. SOCOTEC Certification Singapore (SCS) is the first certification body to receive the accreditation for the SAC HACCP Document 2 system and the leading certifying body to food companies.

  The SS 590:2013 Singapore Standard for Food Safety Management Systems was launched on 10 January 2014. It is to replace the Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) HACCP Document No.2: Management of food safety based on HACCP. A two-year transition period for the migration of this standard is set to be done by 10 January 2016.

The ISO 22000:2005 is an international standard that defines the FSMS requirements to be used by organizations in food supply chain. The purpose is to provide practical Food Safety Management System (FSMS) to ensure the reduction and elimination of food safety risks. CIUK is UKAS accredited on ISO 22000:2005 certification.

Benefits of SS590:2013 / SS444:2010 / ISO 22000:2005:

  • Staff capability and competency
  • Risk management – covering from handling raw food materials to the point of consumption.
  •  Customer confidence – demonstrate an effective HACCP system based on local or international requirements.
  • Legal compliance/requirements for food sectors 
  • Positive image of the company by its commitment to food safety