Socotec Certification International
HOME > Certification > Management Systems Certification > SS ISO 22301:2012/2019 - Business Continuity Management System

SS ISO 22301:2012/2019 - Business Continuity Management System

ISO 22301 certification provides organizations a formal business continuity guideline that will allow organizations to operate during and following a disruption. With ISO 22301, organizations are able to minimize the impact to critical business functions, ensuring that they are still able to deliver their services or recover promptly.

ISO 22301 certification is applicable to all companies across any industry, particularly for those organizations operating in critical sectors where the ability to operate without any delay is important.

Benefits of ISO 22301 certification

    • BCMS enables organizations to assess the potential impacts of an operational disruption and to deploy effective BCPs and minimize the overall impact to the organization
    • Provides organizations with a robust framework for developing effective incident response and recovery procedures to ensure quick recovery in the event of a disruption
    • Effective BCM ensures continuity of critical services and reduce the risk of losses due to an incident or disaster
    • Provides evidence that the organization has taken the necessary steps to comply with certain regulatory requirements
    • Enable organizations to test, update, control and deploy effective BCPs
    • Increase competitive advantage and corporate reputation
    • With BCMS, organizations can identify potential inefficiencies that can be improved and helps the organization to reorganize to focus on its objectives

SCS was the first certification body to be accredited by Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) to BCM SS 540:2008. 

Transition from ISO 22301:2012 to ISO 22301:2019

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has officially published ISO 22301:2019 Business Continuity Management Systems – Requirements on 31 Oct 2019. The stipulated transition period for ISO 22301:2019 is three (3) years and, ISO 22301:2012 certifications shall cease by 31 Oct 2022.

Kindly note the transition to ISO 22301:2019 could take place during the routine audits (e.g. surveillance/ recertification) or non-routine audits. As per the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) requirements, from 31 April 2021 onwards, only ISO 22301:2019 initial and recertification audits will be accepted. Therefore, we would advise you to make the necessary preparation to migrate to ISO 22301:2019 as soon as possible, and to coincide with your upcoming surveillance or recertification audit.

ISO 22301:2019 Key Changes
  • No additional requirements/clause except enhancement on existing requirements, improved clarity, and to make it aligned with other standards with annex SL.
  • Enhanced requirements include the following:
> Management of change (Clause 6.3)
> Business Continuity (BC) strategies and solutions (Clause 8.3)
> Enhancement of evaluation of BC documentations and capabilities (Clause 8.6)

(Note: The entire Clause 8 has been re-structured to provide clearer understanding of the key requirements.)