Socotec Certification International
HOME > Certification > Management Systems Certification > ISO 50001:2011/2018 Energy Management System

ISO 50001:2011/2018 Energy Management System

ISO 50001:2011 Energy Management System was first launched in Year 2011. It is designed to enable organizations (regardless of size and types) to establish the necessary systems and processes to improve energy performance in terms of energy efficiency, use and consumption. National Environment Agency (NEA) has introduced mandatory energy management requirements for large energy users that consume more than 54TJ or 15 gigawatt-hours used per calendar year effective from 22 April 2013 under Energy Conservation Act (ECA).

Once registered, corporations will be required to implement the following energy management practices:

• Appoint an energy manager;
• Monitor and report energy use and greenhouse gas emissions; and
• Submit energy efficiency improvement plans.

The regulations governing these requirements are:

• Energy Conservation (Registrable Corporations) Order 2013
• Energy Conservation (Energy Management Practices) Regulations 2013
• Energy Conservation (Composition of Offences) Regulations 2013

Transition from ISO 50001:2011 to ISO 50001:2018

The ISO Technical Committee has revised the existing ISO 50001:2011 standard to ISO 50001:2018. The ISO 50001:2018 standard was officially published on 20th August 2018. The transition period for ISO 50001:2018 is three years from 20th August 2018 till 19th August 2021. Therefore, as of 20th August 2021, ISO 50001:2011 shall cease. 

ISO 50001 Transition Timeline.png

For ISO 50001:2011 certificate issued during the transition period, its validity shall correspond to the end of the transition period; 19th August 2021. The transition to ISO 50001:2018 could take place during the initial (new), surveillance, re-certification or non-routine audits. Therefore, it is advisable for you to make the necessary preparation to transit to ISO 50001:2018 as soon as possible, and to coincide with your upcoming surveillance or re-certification audit. 

In addition to that, from 19th February 2020, Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) has instructed for accredited certification bodies to conduct audits, including initial, surveillance and re-certification to ISO 50001:2018 for their ISO 50001:2011 (SAC) certified clients even if they have not requested for transition to ISO 50001:2018. Thus, any deficiencies or gaps identified during the audit shall raised as observations if the client has yet to request for transition to ISO 50001:2018. However, if the organization has requested for transition to ISO 50001:2018, deficiencies or gaps identified during the transition audit shall be raised as observation and/or non-conformity, depending on the severity of the finding. 

Key changes to ISO 50001:2018

    1. Adopt ISO High Level Structure (HLS), common for all standards to ensure compatibility with other ISO management system standards
    2. Energy review has been clarified
    3. Normalization of EnPI(s) and associated EnB(s)
    4. Clarification on energy data collection plan and related requirements
    5. EnPI and EnB text has been clarified to provide a better understanding of these concepts

Lastly, for more information on the transition process, please contact our Sales Department via phone at 6299 9001 ext 1 or via email at