Socotec Certification International
HOME > Certification > Management Systems Certification > ISO 22000:2005/2018 - Food Safety Management System

ISO 22000:2005/2018 - Food Safety Management System

SS 444:2010/2018 – Food Safety Management System

Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) is a preventive system of control which provides a framework for carrying out a scientific and risk-based strategy to improve food safety. HACCP enables food establishments and its related parties to identify, prevent and reduce food-borne hazards in the food chain with the practice of the HACCP system.

SS 444:2010 is based substantially on Codex Alimentarius Commission’s Hazards Analysis and Critical Control Point (HACCP) System and Guidelines for its Application (Annex to CAC/RCP1 – 1969, Rev. 4 – 2003 Recommended International Code of Practice General Principles of Food Hygiene)”, adapted and reproduced by permission of Codex.

To apply HACCP successfully, a strong commitment to food safety and personnel training is essential. Therefore, understanding the reasons for performing an action or a procedure is an important and integral part of an effective HACCP programme.

As of 6th March 2018, SS 444:2010 was revised to SS 444:2018. With its revision, it makes SS 444:2018 a certifiable standard unlike before.
Therefore, businesses are encouraged to adopt SS 444:2018 (SAC) due to the globalization of world food’s supply whereby food safety is a critical issue. 

For your information, the key changes to SS 444:2018 are:   

  •       Emphasis on food safety policy
  •       Incorporation of management elements and pre-requisites programme (PRP)
  •       Calibration of measuring instruments
  •       Increased documentation requirements and a clear distinction between validation and verification

Meanwhile, the benefits of SS 444:2018 are:

  •       Increase confidence level from consumers for the company’s products resulting in an increase of sales
  •       Minimizes the occurrence of food safety related incidents
  •       Minimizes the occurrence of food safety related incidents
  •       Shorter investigation time to address complaints or problems in production

Lastly, due to the transition, SCS is organizing regular public training on SS 444:2018. For more details, please contact us at 6299 9001 or via email at

SS 590:2013 – HACCP-Based Food Safety Management System

The SS 590 Singapore Standard for Food Safety Management Systems was launched on 10 January 2014. It is to replace the Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) HACCP Document No.2: Management of food safety based on HACCP.  SS 590:2013 may be used by food organizations, particularly small and medium-sized food organizations as an “intermediate standard” to attain ISO 22000. 

SS 590:2013 is a modified adoption of ISO 22000:2005 – Food Safety Management Systems – Requirements for any organization in the food chain. The standard was designed to ensure its practicability for implementation by small and medium food organizations. Likewise, other food standards, SS 590:2013 also takes reference from the Codex Alimentarius: General Principles of Food Hygiene CAC/RCP1-1969 (Rev. 4-2003). Therefore, SS 590:2013 has enabled small and medium food organizations to meet its legislative requirements, contract requirements as well as the ease of attaining ISO 22000:2005/ 2018 certification.

ISO 22000:2005/ 2018 – Food Safety Management System

The ISO 22000 is an international standard that defines the FSMS requirements to be used by organizations in food supply chain. The purpose is to provide practical Food Safety Management System (FSMS) to ensure the reduction and elimination of food safety risks. SOCOTEC Certification Singapore is accredited to SAC and UKAS (through SOCOTEC UK) for ISO 22000 certification.

Transition to ISO 22000:2018:

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has officially published ISO 22000 Food Safety Management Systems – Requirements for any organization in the food chain on 19 June 2018 and will replace ISO 22000. Companies certified to ISO 22000 are given a 3-year transition period until 29 June 2021 to transit to the new version. Therefore, accredited certificates issued to ISO 22000:2005 after the date of publication of ISO 22000:2018 shall state an expiry date of 29 June 2021.

 ISO 22000 Transition Timeline.png

The transition could take place during initial (new), surveillance, re-certification or non-routine audits. Therefore, it is advisable for you to make the necessary preparation to migrate to ISO 22000:2018 as soon as possible. 

Main highlights in ISO 22000:2018:

  • Adoption of risk-based thinking at the organizational- and the operational-level to increase the effectiveness of the food safety management system, achieve improved results and prevent negative effects.  
  • ISO 22000:2018 applies the ISO High Level Structure (HLS). It follows the same structure as other widely applied ISO standards such as ISO 9001 and ISO 14001. Therefore, it is easier to integrate with other management systems. Though most of the requirements in ISO 22000:2005 are continued in ISO 22000:2018, there are some new and revised requirements. 

For more details, please refer to the transition kit. ISO 22000:2018

Benefits of SS590:2013 / SS444:2010/2018 / ISO 22000:2005/2018:

      • Staff capability and competency
      • Risk management – covering from handling raw food materials to the point of consumption.
      • Customer confidence – demonstrate an effective HACCP system based on local or international requirements.
      • Legal compliance/requirements for food sectors 
      • Positive image of the company by its commitment to food safety