Socotec Certification International
HOME > Certification > Management Systems Certification > BS OHSAS 18001:2007/ISO 45001:2018 - Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OSHMS)

BS OHSAS 18001:2007/ISO 45001:2018 - Occupational Health and Safety Management System (OSHMS)

BS OHSAS 18001 is internationally recognized for occupational health and safety management systems. It was developed by a selection of leading trade bodies, international standards and Certification Bodies to set up a robust structured framework for organisations to manage Health and Safety and demonstrate universal evidence that they are compliant. It has been developed to be compatible with ISO 9001 and ISO 14001. This allows organizations to integrate quality, environmental and occupational health and safety management systems throughout its operations.  

 BS OHSAS 18001 specification is accepted throughout the world and has been developed to be compatible with ISO 9001:2008 (Quality) and ISO 14001:2004 (Environmental) management systems.  

In addition to that, we could offer accredited OHSAS certification under United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS).

Key Benefits of BS OHSAS 18001:

      • Eliminate or minimize risk to employees and other interested parties who may be exposed to OH&S risks associated with your organization’s activities. 
      • Assurance of compliance with any relevant legislation, thereby reducing the risk of penalties
      • Improve operational efficiency through accident management reduction and reduction in downtime
      • Demonstrate commitment to health and safety to stakeholders

Transition from BS OHSAS 18001:2007 to ISO 45001:2018  

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) has officially published ISO 45001:2018 – Occupational Health & Safety Management Systems – Requirements with guidance for use on 12th March 2018. ISO 45001:2018 will replace BS OHSAS 18001:2007 – Occupational Health & Safety Management System. The stipulated transition period for ISO 45001:2018 is three years from 12th March 2018 till 11th March 2021. Therefore, as of 12th March 2021, BS OHSAS 18001:2007 shall cease.

For more details on ISO 45001:2018 transition process, please refer to the FAQ: ISO 45001:2018 FAQ

Key changes to ISO 45001:2018:   
      • Greater flexibility in how organization’s document and structure their OH&S management system   
      • Requirement for “documented information” rather than documented procedures and records  
      • Preventive action is no longer included as standard is preventive   
      • New focus on the “Context” of the organization   
      • Emphasis on understanding internal and external issues   
      • Importance on the needs of interested parties   
      • Strategic approach to OHS management   
      • Greater emphasis on integration of OHS in management of the business   
      • Greater involvement and emphasis on senior management leadership   
      • More emphasis on the concept of risk management   
      • Explicit emphasis on legal and other requirements   
      • Greater focus of need to demonstrate compliance   
      • Greater emphasis on hierarchy of controls   
      • Management of change specifically included   
      • Outsourcing and procurement made more explicit